Tips to Organize your Office

Sometimes all you need for a fresh start, is a clean work space.

Sometimes when things get overwhelming, the best thing you can do is change your work space.

I really loved the idea of the Four-Box Method by Joshua Becker.

You basically get 4 big boxes and label each one.

  • Box 1: Keep
  • Box 2: Trash
  • Box 3: Donate
  • Box 4: Relocate

Remove everything

The first thing you need to do is remove everything from your desk and drawers and put it into a big pile. And I’m not exaggerating. Remove everything from your office and put it into a big pile.

If you have a mobile office, same thing.

Get your 4 boxes labeled and let’s get to work.

Keep:

This is everything you use on a daily basis. In this bin, you only want everything you need in arms reach. You don’t want to have to get up to get anything. When you sit down to work, you work; you shouldn’t have to be getting up and looking for things.

While you’re doing this step, you need to file any papers into proper folders/storage.

If you haven’t used something in 4 weeks, I want it to go into the “RELOCATE” box.

Trash

Get rid of everything you can. You need a clean and efficient office space to get some new energy and perspective in your business.

Stop holding onto things that don’t serve you. And for the love of all things holy, stop buying things you don’t need.

Donate

I think this was my biggest pile. There were so many things I had bought that I didn’t want to throw away, but I didn’t need to keep. I posted things on Facebook for people to come get if they wanted and I took boxes full of things to our local team meetings to give away.

What was left over on this box, all went to Goodwill.

Relocate

This is something my friend Tiffany Wellinghoff taught me like 6 years ago. Divide your office into 3 zones:

  • Hot
  • Warm
  • Cold
  1. Hot zone is everything you need on a daily basis and within arms reach.
  2. Warm zone is everything you need maybe once a month or every couple weeks.
  3. Cold zone, you very rarely need it, but it’s important when you do.

Your RELOCATE box, is for your COLD ZONE. Label a box and put it in the basement or a closet so it can be easily located when you do need it.

Now, you have a fresh start and you can get to work! Tell us, on a scale of 1-5, how messy is your desk?

1 is spotless and 5 is a tragic mess.

Don’t forget to join our Facebook community!

Follow me on Instagram

Follow me on YouTube

Follow me on Pinterest

 

 

Leave a Reply